Nouvelles

11/22/2016

Other mention in Université Laval's Contact folder

Last November, the laboratory director, Sébastien Tremblay, was mentioned in the article "Dans les dédales de nos mémoires" of the new Université Laval Contact folder. This report presents the work and opinions of various university researchers interested in memory.

The article is available on the following link: http://www.contact.ulaval.ca/article_dossier/dedales-de-nos-memoires/



04/21/2016

Mention in Université Laval's Contact folder

Last April, the laboratory director, Sébastien Tremblay, was mentioned in the article "L'art du jeu vidéo" of the new Université Laval Contact folder. This report presents the work and opinions of various university researchers interested in the video game world.

The article is available on the following link: http://www.contact.ulaval.ca/article_dossier/lart-du-jeu-video/



10/16/2014

Co -DOT laboratory representation at the Festival du Nouveau Cinéma

On October 16th, 2014, the Co-DOT laboratory of Université Laval’s School of Psychology was presented at the 43rd Festival du Nouveau Cinéma, in Montréal. The laboratory’s 
director, professor Sébastien Tremblay, as well as professor Philip Jackson, presented the project FUN II in collaboration with Ubisoft Québec, which aims to develop objective 
ways to measure the players’ fun level while playing video games in order to optimize their experience. For more information and pictures, follow this link: 
http://www.nouveaucinema.ca/#/nouvelles/album/749471065089287



11/11/2014

Television report on Co-DOT Laboratory at Le Code Chastenay!

FUN II (intelligent interaction) project, a collaboration between Ubisoft Quebec and the Co-DOT Laboratory of professor Sébastien Tremblay and the laboratoire de neuroscience sociales et cognitives of professor Philip Jackson, was part of a televised report at Le Code Chastenay presented on Télé-Québec channel http://zonevideo.telequebec.tv/media/18411/du-plaisir-et-des-jeux/le-code-chastenay on Tuesday, November 11th, 2014. The objective of the project is to develop ways to measure the players’ fun level in video games objectively in order to optimize the players’ experience.



05/30/2014

Partnership Ubisoft Québec – École de psychologie

Last May 29 was officially launched Fun II (intelligent interaction) in a collaboration between video game company Ubisoft Québec and Université Laval. This research project, led by researchers Phillip Jackson and Sébastien Tremblay, respectively directors of the laboratoire de neuroscience sociales et cognitive and Co-DOT Laboratory, aims at the development of video games that are interactive and adaptive in real-time to the player's emotions and cognitions.   To do so, the first step of this project consists of  objectively defining the level of fun and enjoyment felt by the player by using different physiological and behavioral measures (eye movements, electrodermal activity, heart rate, breathing, etc.). The second step is the development of algorithms able to interpret and predict the level of fun felt by the player based on psychophysiological inputs and adapt the game to maximize the player's fun.  Finally, the last step is the development of video games either for education or entertainment which will use the results of the two first steps of the project to interact and adapt itself in real-time to the player's level of fun.

For more details on this project and links to articles related to this news:
http://www.fss.ulaval.ca/?pid=273&n=1385



11/26/2013

Congradulations to Cindy Chamberland, Post Doctoral Fellow at Co-DOT Laboratory, who earned a Mitacs Award for her contribution to a project in collaboration with Ubisoft!

It is at the 3rd annual reception honouring emerging researchers’ contributions that Cindy Chamberland was granted a Post-Doctoral Award for Outstanding Innovation.  As part of a project aiming to objectively assess the “fun factor” in video games, the Post-Doctoral Fellow’s efforts will determine specific parameters in order to keep gamers engaged.  For more information, follow this link http://www.mitacs.ca/n/2013/11/outstanding-and-coming-researchers-honoured-3rd-annual-mitacs-awards-reception



09/19/2013

Television report on Co-DOT Laboratory at Le Code Chastenay!

Co-DOT Laboratory, under the supervision of Sébastien Tremblay, at Université Laval’s School of Psychology, was part of a televised report at Le Code Chastenay http://lecodechastenay.telequebec.tv/, presented on Télé-Québec channel, on Tuesday, September 17th 2013, at 7 pm EST.  The report presented innovative research on human cognition and teamwork under simulated conditions of crisis management.

     

Anaït Bagramyan, named for her social and communal involvement, with Jean Vézina, Director, School of Psychology

 

Marie-Pier B. Tremblay, named for the best academic average mark in year 2 of the Bachelor’s degree with Jean Vézina, Director, School of Psychology



09/18/2013

Partnership between the Co-DOT Laboratory and the Institut supérieur de l’Aéronautique et de l’Espace de Toulouse

In a video produced by the Institut supérieur de l’Aéronautique et de l’Espace inToulouse http://www.youtube.com/ISAEcom, Co-DOT Laboratory’s director, Dr Sébastien Tremblay, explains  the nature of their international partnership as well as how their expertise and infrastructures are complementary.   An ongoing project on human factors in aviation is briefly described.    



09/17/2013

Congratulations to students named at the School of Psychology’s Roll of Honour 2012-13!

The School of Psychology highlighted the excellent performance of students at the Roll of Honour 2012-13 event.  Co-DOT Laboratory wishes to express its congratulations to all recipients for the quality of their work and for the efforts they have deployed.  Particular commendations go to Marie-Pier B. Tremblay, named for the best academic average score in the second year of the Bachelor’s degree, to Pierre-Guillaume Laurin, named for the best poster presentation, to Anaït Bagramyan, named for her social and communal involvement, and to Benoît Roberge-Vallières for a certificate bestowed to him by the Canadian Psychological Association!



07/04/2013

A project titled "Collaborative extreme work: The next generation of teams and information technologies", funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, is now underway.

The project will focus on teams comprising humans and intelligent systems, under “extreme” situations. The main goal of the proposed multi-disciplinary partnership is to characterize the social, affective, and cognitive effects of technology on team members in order to improve collaborative work.



11/19/2012

New project underway!

Collaborative research and development grant for the research project “E-CODEM: interactive learning for complex decision making’’.

This project investigates how decision making in complex environments may be enhanced through behavioural training, intelligent tutoring and cognitive support using an interactive learning environment. The results will help to better understand the needs for training in human decision making in complex situations and to test approaches to improve the state of cognitive readiness.



11/19/2012

Laureate of Graduate Students Supervision is awarded to Sébastien Tremblay!

Professor Sébastien Tremblay, Co-DOT Laboratory’s Director, has received the Award of Excellence for training and supervision of graduate students.

With this Award of Excellence, Université Laval wishes to express its appreciation to professors in the departments of Humanities and Social Sciences, and Art and Literature for the quality of the supervision they offer to graduate students. The Award emphasizes exceptional supervision and rewards Professor Tremblay for his outstanding educational initiatives and teaching practices. See the following link for more details.



11/19/2012

New project: measuring "fun factor" in gaming with Ubisoft

The objective of this project is to assess objectively the "fun factor" in video games in order to create games that adapt in real time to the emotional and cognitive states of the players.

Conducted in collaboration with UL Professor Philip Jackson’s team, this innovative project involves a series of experiments that will associate behavioral (e.g., eye movements) and psychophysiological measures (e.g. EEG, heart rate) with the observed gaming pattern. These markers will then be used to develop a game system that adapts in real time to the players’ state in order to maximize their gaming experience.

Nouvelles

11/22/2016

Autre mention dans le magazine Contact de l’Université Laval

En novembre dernier, le directeur du laboratoire, le professeur Sébastien Tremblay, a été mentionné dans l’article « Dans les dédales de nos mémoires » du nouveau dossier du magazine Contact de l’Université Laval. Ce dossier présente les travaux et les opinions de divers chercheurs de l’université s’intéressant à la mémoire.

L’article est disponible sur le lien suivant: http://www.contact.ulaval.ca/article_dossier/dedales-de-nos-memoires/



04/21/2016

Mention dans le magazine Contact de l’Université Laval

En avril dernier, le directeur du laboratoire, le professeur Sébastien Tremblay, a été mentionné dans l’article « L’art du jeu vidéo » du nouveau dossier du magazine Contact de l’Université Laval. Ce dossier présente les travaux et les opinions de divers chercheurs de l’université s’intéressant à l’univers du jeu.

L’article est disponible sur le lien suivant: http://www.contact.ulaval.ca/article_dossier/lart-du-jeu-video/



10/16/2014

Représentation du laboratoire Co-DOT au Festival du Nouveau Cinéma

Le 16 octobre 2014 dernier, le laboratoire Co-DOT de l’École de psychologie a été présenté au 43e Festival du Nouveau Cinéma, à Montréal. Le directeur du laboratoire, le professeur Sébastien Tremblay, ainsi que le professeur Philip Jackson, ont présenté le projet sur lequel ils travaillent en collaboration avec Ubisoft Québec. Ce projet vise à développer des façons objectives de mesurer le plaisir des joueurs s’adonnant aux jeux vidéo dans le but d’optimiser leur expérience. Les photos de l’événement sont disponibles sur le lien suivant : 
http://www.nouveaucinema.ca/#/nouvelles/album/749471065089287



12/11/2014

Reportage sur le partenariat avec Ubisoft Québec à l'émission Le Code Chastenay

Le projet FUN II (interaction intelligente), issu d'une collaboration entre Ubisoft Québec et le laboratoire Co-DOT du professeur Sébastien Tremblay et le laboratoire de neuroscience sociales et cognitives du professeur Philip Jackson, a fait l’objet d’un reportage à l’émission Le Code Chastenay, diffusé sur les ondes de Télé-Québec mardi, le 11 novembre 2014 http://zonevideo.telequebec.tv/media/18411/du-plaisir-et-des-jeux/le-code-chastenay. Le projet vise à développer des outils pour mesurer objectivement le plaisir des joueurs dans les jeux vidéo afin d'optimiser l'expérience de ces derniers. 



05/30/2014

Partenariat Ubisoft Québec – École de psychologie

Le 29 mai dernier fut lancé officiellement le projet FUN II (interaction intelligente) impliquant la collaboration entre la compagnie de jeux vidéo Ubisoft Québec et l'Université Laval. Le projet de recherche, mené par les professeurs de l'École de psychologie Philip Jackson et Sébastien Tremblay, respectivement directeurs du laboratoire de neuroscience sociales et cognitives et du laboratoire Co-DOT, vise le développement de jeux vidéo interactifs et adaptatifs en temps réel aux émotions et cognitions du joueur. Pour se faire, une première étape du projet vise à définir objectivement le plaisir ressenti par le joueur à l’aide de différentes mesures physiologiques et comportementales (orientation du regard, réponse électrodermale, rythme cardiaque, respiration, etc.). La seconde étape est le  développement d’algorithmes prédictifs du plaisir ressenti par le joueur qui permettront au jeu vidéo d'interpréter les mesures psychophysiologiques en terme d'émotion et de s'adapter afin de maximiser le plaisir ressenti. Finalement, le troisième volet sera le développement de jeux vidéo, tant ludiques qu’éducatifs, qui utiliseront les résultats des deux premières étapes afin de s'adapter en temps réel au plaisir du joueur .

Pour plus de détails et les liens des différents articles en lien avec cette nouvelle : http://www.fss.ulaval.ca/?pid=273&n=1385



11/26/2013

Félicitations à Cindy Chamberland, chercheure postdoctorale au Laboratoire Co-DOT, qui se mérite le prestigieux Prix Mitacs pour sa contribution à un projet en collaboration avec Ubisoft!

C’est lors de la 3e cérémonie annuelle visant à souligner les réalisations de jeunes chercheurs/es canadiens/ennes que Cindy Chamberland s’est vue remporter le Prix Mitacs pour une innovation exceptionnelle d’un(e) stagiaire posdoctoral(e).  Dans le cadre d’un projet visant à mesurer objectivement le plaisir que procure l’expérience liée aux jeux vidéos, les travaux de la chercheure postdoctorale vont permettre de déterminer avec précision les paramètres pour maintenir l’intérêt des joueurs.  Pour en savoir plus, consultez ce lien http://www.mitacs.ca/fr/n/2013/11/les-chercheurs-de-la-rel-ve-honor-s-la-3e-c-r-monie-annuelle-des-prix-mitacs



09/18/2013

Partenariat complémentaire entre le Laboratoire Co-DOT et l’Institut supérieur de l’Aéronautique et de l’Espace de Toulouse

Dans une capsule vidéo réalisée par l’Institut supérieur de l’Aéronautique et de l’Espace de Toulouse http://www.youtube.com/ISAEcom, le directeur du Laboratoire Co-DOT, le Dr Sébastien Tremblay, présente la nature de leur partenariat international de même que la complémentarité de leurs expertises et infrastructures.  Il y décrit les grandes lignes d’un projet en cours portant sur les facteurs humains dans le domaine de l’aviation. 



09/19/2013

Reportage sur le Laboratoire Co-DOT à l’émission Le Code Chastenay!

Le laboratoire Co-DOT de l’École de psychologie, sous la direction du professeur Sébastien Tremblay, a fait l’objet d’un reportage de l’émission Le Code Chastenay, diffusé sur les ondes de Télé-Québec http://zonevideo.telequebec.tv/media/6894/une-equipe-d-urgence-mise-a-l-epreuve/le-code-chastenay mardi, le 17 septembre 2013, à 19h00.  Le reportage présentait les travaux de recherche novateurs sur la cognition humaine réalisés dans un contexte de simulation de gestion de crise, visant à favoriser le rendement optimal du travail d’équipe.



09/17/2013

Félicitations aux étudiant(e)s récipiendaires d’une mention au Tableau d’honneur 2012-2013 de l’École de psychologie!

L’École de psychologie a souligné la réussite d’étudiant(e)s en remettant des prix et une mention au Tableau d’honneur 2012-13.  Le Laboratoire Co-DOT félicite vivement tous les récipiendaires pour la qualité de leur travail et les efforts soutenus qu’ils ont déployés.  Félicitations particulières à Marie-Pier B. Tremblay, le prix de la meilleure moyenne cumulative en 2e année de baccalauréat, à Pierre-Guillaume Laurin, prix pour la meilleure communication affichée, à Anaït Bagramyan,  prix pour l’engagement social et communautaire et à Benoît Roberge-Vallières pour le certificat remis par la Société canadienne de psychologie!

     

Félicitations à Anaït Bagramyan, prix pour l’engagement social et communautaire

 

Félicitations particulières à Marie-Pier B. Tremblay, prix de la meilleure moyenne cumulative en 2e année de baccalauréat



07/04/2013

Obtention d’une subvention du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada pour le projet «Collaborative extreme work: The next generation of teams and information technologies».

Le projet étudiera le travail en équipes composées d’humains et d’agents intelligents en situations « extrêmes ».  L’objectif vise à caractériser les dimensions sociales, affectives et cognitives des effets de la technologie en tant que coéquipier pour améliorer le travail collaboratif. 



11/19/2012

Nouveau projet en cours!

Obtention d’une subvention de recherche et développement coopérative du CRSNG pour le projet de recherche « E-CODEM : Apprentissage interactif pour la prise de décision en environnements complexes »

Le projet vise à étudier la façon de renforcer la prise de décisions dans des environnements complexes grâce à un entraînement comportemental, un tutoriel intelligent et du soutien cognitif dans un milieu d'apprentissage interactif. Les résultats permettront de mieux comprendre les besoins en entraînement humain pour la prise de décisions dans des situations complexes et de faire l'essai d'approches afin d’améliorer l’état de préparation cognitive.



11/19/2012

Le lauréat du prix d’excellence pour l’encadrement est décerné à Sébastien Tremblay

Le professeur Sébastien Tremblay, directeur du Laboratoire, reçoit le prix d’excellence pour l’encadrement offert aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs.

Ce prix témoigne de la valeur accordée par l’Université Laval à la qualité de l’encadrement offert par ses professeurs du secteur des sciences humaines, des sciences sociales, des arts et des lettres. Il souligne l’encadrement exceptionnel et récompense les initiatives de M. Tremblay sur le plan pédagogique. Consultez ce lien pour tous les détails.



11/19/2012

Un nouveau projet avec Ubisoft; mesurer le facteur "fun"

Ce projet vise à mesurer de façon objective le plaisir que procurent les jeux vidéo afin de créer des jeux qui s’adaptent en temps réel à l’état affectif et cognitif des joueurs.

Réalisé en partenariat avec l'équipe du professeur Philip Jackson de l'UL, ce projet de recherche novateur propose une série d’expériences qui permettront d’associer des mesures comportementales (p.ex. mouvements oculaires) et psychophysiologiques (p.ex. EEG, rythme cardiaque) au patron de jeu observé. Ces différentes balises serviront par la suite au développement d’un système de jeu qui s’adapte en temps réel à l’état du joueur afin de maximiser son expérience de jeu.